Chic Critique Cover Contest

I’m usually not one to enter contests, because I look at the other entries, and think I’m outta that league. However, in light of creating my new blog/site and trying my best to “go for it”, I am submitting this image for the September/Fall cover contest for Chic Magazine. I am a member of the Chic Critique Forum and would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to see my image grace the cover of their magazine!

Drumroll please….

In light of my wants and desires, it was high-time I finally poop, or get off the pot (as they say). I have finally started my very own photography blog/site, in order to showcase my images and promote myself as a professional photographer. I have put this off for quite some time, exactly how long, I’m embarrassed to say. However, it was a recent conversation with my mom that led me to realize that the reason I had put it off was fear. I am one of the most stubborn, persistant, and confident women you’ll meet…as long as I’m not talking about myself, referring to myself or trying to promote my business. I can sell, sell, sell when it comes to others, and I’m darn good to. But when it comes to me, I don’t know, it gets hard to do. I believe it is the fear of failure. What if I put everything I have and everything that I am in to this, and it fails. Then what? I’ll have nothing to fall back on, and I’ll no longer have the “goal” of being a pro-photographer in the future. Sometimes I think it could be the fear of success. What if I put everything I have and everything that I am in to this, and it thrives. Then what? Will I be able to keep up?

It’s silly, I know. And after my recent talk, I came to the conclusion that I am not getting any younger, and life really is too short to wait around with a bunch of “what ifs”. So here I am, my first post. I’d like to say that the days ahead will be filled with sessions and the pages with be overloaded with images and family memories. For now, I will start small and hope for the best!! 😉